Sleeping Well

Abhinav Thakur
4 min readMar 5, 2021
Photo by Alexander Possingham on Unsplash

As adults, we spend just as much time sleeping as we spend at work; or at least we should. It is not good to sacrifice sleep to catch up on anything, however important it might be. Sleep is more important for body and brain function than anything else.

In the year 2017, I wasn’t sleeping well. It was not difficult to drift off initially. However, I would wake up and find it hard to go back to sleep. My work started early morning so I had many difficult days due to reduced quality of sleep. I was determined to find out how to improve my sleep and so I started researching about good sleep habits.

Habit 1: Go To Bed At The Same Time Everyday

Photo by Brad Neathery on Unsplash

This is the lowest hanging fruit if you want to improve your sleep quality. However, it is definitely easier said than done. If you strive to go to bed at the same time everyday, your body becomes accustomed to it and your brain automatically starts to prepare your body for sleep. This doesn’t only help with sleep timing but improves sleep quality as well. Your body finds it hard to cope with unpredictability with respect to sleep timing and it will thank you if you go to bed at around the same time everyday.

--

--