How I Became a Planner

Abhinav Thakur
4 min readFeb 27, 2021
Photo by Emma Matthews Digital Content Production on Unsplash

There are essentially two kinds of people; first kind who like to plan everything, and a second kind who prefer spontaneity over certainty. For the most part of my life, I have been in the latter camp.

There is a certain kind of personality which it takes to meticulously organize things in life and plan ahead. It is a lot easier to be spontaneous and go with the flow. However, for the planners out there; it would be extremely difficult to switch to spontaneity. There is a certain amount of control planners feel they have in life which they would seemingly lose if they became spontaneous.

In all my endeavors up until recently, I was the go with the flow kind of person. Planning seemed like a chore and I place no value on it. My philosophy was that life can throw you into situations which you can never plan for, what then? Most of the time, I have found out that life hardly ever goes “according to plan”.

My wife on the other hand is a planner. She believes in having a plan even if we don’t execute it. I find it endearing that I have acquired some of her beliefs overtime, especially with respect to planning in life.

Planning didn’t come naturally to me. The first time I noticed, I was into planning was when she told me that I had planned one of our trips well and she enjoyed it. I didn’t even know I was planning until we were done…

--

--